Show All Answers
With more testing supplies available in Kansas, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment is encouraging providers to begin testing anyone who is symptomatic.
Symptoms of COVID-19 include:
(without an alternate more likely diagnosis)
More information on symptoms and the definition of Person Under Investigation can be found here.
If testing is done through KDHE, the person needs to have two or more symptoms. If testing is being done through private labs, we encourage testing of those having one or more symptoms.
The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) does not charge for testing. However, providers may assess collection fees and private labs may assess charges. You should check with your provider for information concerning any tests.
We are aware that the following are testing in Kansas:
The time it takes to complete a sample can depend on a number of factors. The test itself takes between 4 to 6 hours to complete, but there are pre-testing procedures that must take place. Additionally, the method of transport of the sample to the lab will also determine how long it takes to complete the test. Patients awaiting test results should stay in contact with the healthcare provider who took the sample regarding the results. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) cannot release results to anyone via email or over the phone.
Anyone experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 who believe they need to be tested should contact their healthcare provider or doctor to be evaluated. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) cannot provide medical evaluation or provide direct testing; KDHE will only accept test requests from healthcare providers or local health departments. Only those experiencing COVID-19 symptoms will be tested.
If you were recently tested for COVID-19 and are waiting for your results, you should contact your healthcare provider. The test results will be sent to them and they will give them to you. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) cannot release the results to you over the phone due to Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) restrictions. The test can take up to 3 days to get results back. Your provider can log into EpiTrax to view the results faster than waiting for notification from KDHE.