- Feature Links
- How to protect yourself and others
How to Protect Yourself & Others
The best way to prevent COVID-19 is to avoid being exposed to the virus. Take the following steps to minimize your risk:
- Stay home as much as possible.
- Wash hands frequently with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. If soap and water is not available, use hand sanitizer with at least 60% alcohol.
- Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth.
- Distance yourself from others when in public, especially if you are a senior or have a medical condition that puts you in a high-risk category.
- Cover your mouth and nose with a cloth mask when in public. Learn more about children and masks.
- Cover coughs and sneezes with an elbow or tissue. Throw the used tissue away and immediately wash your hands.
- Clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces daily -- including phones, keyboards, doorknobs, handles and light switches – with an EPA-registered disinfectant.
Governor Kelly’s Plan to Safely, Gradually Reopen Kansas
On April 30, 2020, Governor Laura Kelly presented her detailed framework for gradually, safely re-opening the Kansas economy. Phase One of “Ad Astra: A Plan to Reopen Kansas,” took effect on May 4, when the statewide stay-home order officially lifted. Please note, the State sets the baseline. County officials may implement more restrictive guidelines.
On May 19, Governor Kelly announced the state would enter into Phase 2 on May 22, given promising trends in the Reopen Kansas Metrics. Phase 2 coincides with Memorial Day and will last until Sunday, June 7, assuming the current trends continue.
On May 26, Governor Kelly signed a disaster declaration, calling for a special session of the Kansas Legislature.
Phase 3 is anticipated to begin on Monday, June 8, with mass gatherings of more than 45 individuals prohibited. Phase Out is anticipated no earlier than June 22. Reminder: The State sets the baseline. County officials may implement more restrictive guidelines.
Ad Astra: A Plan to Reopen Kansas
I have traveled recently. How do I know if a travel-related quarantine is recommended?
Currently, there is a 14-day mandatory home quarantine for people in Kansas who have traveled to the following locations:
- Rhode Island
- New Jersey
- New York
- Traveled on a cruise ship or river cruise
- Traveled internationally
Those who were potentially exposed to COVID-19 due to travel should monitor for signs and symptoms of COVID-19, including checking for a fever of 100.4 (F) or higher at least twice per day and monitoring for lower respiratory symptoms including cough or shortness of breath. Use the Daily Medical Monitoring Log for the 14-day quarantine period. If symptoms develop during that time, notify your healthcare provider. Learn more and find additional resources.